Listed Buildings

What is a Listed Building?

Listed Buildings have been identified as being of special historic or architectural interest. The Statutory List of Buildings of Special Architectural or Historic Interest is compiled by the Secretary of State for Department for Digital Culture, Media and Sport. Listed Buildings are categorised into 3 grades to indicate their relative importance:

  • Grade I - Buildings of exceptional interest
  • Grade II* - Buildings of importance
  • Grade II - Buildings of special interest

This area contains a number of these buildings, about half of which are located within Conservation Areas.

Is my building Listed?

The detailed listing of listed buildings is publicly available, and can be viewed via the Heritage Gateway website.

Details relating to listed buildings and other heritage assets can also be obtained from the Buckinghamshire Historic Environment Record.

Works to Listed Buildings

Listed Buildings are protected by stricter planning controls than non-designated buildings. It is necessary to obtain Listed Building Consent in order to demolish all or part of a Listed Building, or alter it inside or out, or extend it in any way that would affect its character as a building of special architectural or historic interest. If you need confirmation about whether proposed works can take place without  the need for listed building consent then please submit an application for a Certificate of Lawfulness of proposed Works to a listed building.

To demolish or alter a Listed Building without consent is a criminal offence. Penalties for unauthorised works are severe.