Award gives noise consortium plenty to shout about

The HS2LANC Local Authorities Noise Consortium, representing 15 local authorities, led by Chiltern District Council and South Bucks District Council, assisted by Aylesbury Vale District Council and the London Borough of Camden, have won an award for their work on behalf of the communities affected the HS2 Rail project.

The  Noise Abatement Society's 2017 John Connell Awards ceremony, dubbed the 'Noise Oscars', was held at the Palace of Westminster on Tuesday 31 October, hosted by Damian Collins MP for Folkestone and Hythe.

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Defra Therese Coffey presented the award. The John Connell Local Authority Award recognises services, campaigns and programmes that are shining examples of community cooperation, education and creative solutions to solving noise pollution problems. It recognises that controlling excessive and unwanted noise in the community is one of the many tough responsibilities of Environmental Health Officers. Local Authorities are continually challenged to demonstrate imaginative and sustainable initiatives in the management of noise issues.  


The HS2LANC the Local Authorities Noise Consortium collaborated to check and challenge the hybrid bill on behalf of the communities affected by the planned construction and operation of HS2 Phase 1, the high speed railway from London to Birmingham.

Gloria Elliott, Noise Abatement Society Chief Executive, said: "NAS salutes this very worthy winner of the John Connell Local Authority Award - a shining example of how, speaking with one strong voice, these fifteen Council Environmental Protection teams found a successful way of working together to deliver significant improvements to the noise mitigation measures within the Environmental Submission for HS2."


The 15 Local Councils in the HS2 LANC are: London Borough of Camden, Chiltern DC, Aylesbury Vale DC, London Borough of Hillingdon, Three Rivers Council, South Buckinghamshire Council, Wycombe Council, Cherwell Council, South Northamptonshire Council, North Warwickshire Council, Solihull Council, Lichfield Council, Buckinghamshire Council, Warwickshire Council, and Staffordshire Council

The John Connell Awards are named after NAS's founder John Connell OBE, who lobbied the Noise Abatement Act through Parliament in 1960 when noise became a statutory nuisance in the UK for the first time. These annual awards, known as the 'Noise Oscars', are now in their 16th year. They acknowledge the importance of the quality of sound in our lives, and champion vital advances in reducing the negative impact of unnecessary noise for the public benefit. Over 200 recipients from local authorities, industry, organisations and individuals have now been honoured for the significant impact they have made to improve the aural environment.

The Noise Abatement Society (NAS) is a UK charity whose remit is to raise awareness about noise pollution. Its internationally respected work helps to relieve the physical and mental distress caused by excessive noise which profoundly affects health, learning, productivity and social cohesion.